2019 MTS ROV Committee Award Winners

February 1, 2019

Congratulations to the following MTS ROV Committee award winners.

MTS ROV Committee Distinguished Achievement Award:  Rusty Jehangir, CEO of Blue Robotics 

Rusty receives this award due to his exceptional entrepreneurial and technical skills demonstrated by his launch and continued successful operation of Blue Robotics.  Blue Robotics has delivered over 30,000 thrusters and sold more than 1,000 BlueROV’s.  Additionally, Rusty is an ardent supporter and sponsor of academic AUV and ROV competitions.

MTS ROV Committee Public Awareness Award:  Schmidt Ocean Institute

SOI designed and built their 4,500 meter rated ROV “SuBastian” and has an extensive and dedicated outreach program designed to educate the public about designing, building and testing a deep water ROV.  SOI actively encourages students to participate in STEM career pathways via live ship to shore calls to classrooms, museums, and aquariums.  This year alone they have touched more than 1,000 students.  SOI’s research has been shown on NHK, BBC, PBS, and National Geographic television.  Additionally, at each port that their vessel stops in, the public is invited to tour the ship and see a demonstration of their ROV and other work they perform.

MTS ROV Committee Academic Excellence Award:  Dr. Ahmed El-Shenawy

Dr. El-Shenawy is an Associate Professor in the Engineeering and Technology – Electrical and Control Department at the Arab Academy of Science, Technology, and Maritime Transport in Alexandria, Egypt.  He is being recognized for his efforts to educate and prepare students for success in the field of underwater robotics.  He has mentored teams competing in the MATE ROV Competition for the last five years, and many of his students have now entered the workforce in the marine robotics industry. 

These awards were presented at the Awards Dinner at Underwater Intervention, Tuesday, February 5, 2019.


Share This Page With Your Peers!