Dynamic Positioning View All Committees

Join Committee


The Dynamic Positioning Committee was established to provide a consistent forum for exchange of information, discussion of technology, training and education, improvement of reliability, review of existing and proposed guidelines and/or regulations, and any other issues pertinent to dynamic positioning and consistent with the objectives of the Marine Technology Society.

The DP Committee activities include the annual DP Conference during mid-October, consisting of a Workshop on Monday, and the main Conference on Tuesday and Wednesday.  The conference includes exhibits of DP related systems and equipment. Go to the DP Committee Website for the program and registration information.
The DP Committee has prepared Guidance documents on Dynamic Positioning operations, design and people to aid in the safe and effective management of DP operations.


Chair:  Pete Fougere

Dynamic Positioning Conference 2020

October 12-14, 2020
Westin Houston Memorial City Hotel 945



Pete Fougere – Distinguished Achievement Award – 2004

Pete is a founding member of the MTS DP Committee. From 1997 through 2000 he was the DP Conference Program Chair, and is the founder of the DP Test Guidelines Sub-Committee. In recognition of his career accomplishments he was awarded the MTS DP Committee Distinguished Achievement Award in 2004, and the MTS Fellow Award in 2011. In 2013 he was elected Chair of the DP Committee.
Pete’s experience with Dynamic Positioning includes design and specification; commissioning and testing; problem solving and training. His particular interest is DP reliability and improving the effectiveness of Failure Mode Effects Analysis for DP systems.

His professional experience includes: Engineering Discipline Manager-Power and Controls, Senior Engineering Manager-Control Systems and Senior Engineering Manager for Transocean. Due to his expertise and commitment to Transocean’s CORE values Pete was awarded the FIRST Excellence Award in 2000. He retired from Transocean in 2012.

Share This Page With Your Peers!